Travel to Berlin

Travel Berlin 


The city of Berlin is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful areas to explore in Germany. So, if you are planning a trip to Berlin, you will be sure to get your money's worth. Here are some of the most beautiful attractions the city has to offer as well as some ideas for activities to make your stay in Berlin memorable. 


Berlin, the Capital 


Cultural centre of Europe, Germany's capital is full of historic sites and heritage buildings worth seeing. Such is the case with the famous Berlin Wall, a remnant of the important ideological division that opposed the people of East Germany to those of West Germany at the end of the Second World War. Along the wall, there are hundreds of paintings and graffiti testifying to the historic hostilities between the communist and capitalist camps after the fall of the Nazi reign of Adolf Hitler. 


The DDR Museum 


Berlin has a multitude of museums – 55 in all. One of the busiest is the DDR Museum, which displays objects that belonged to the inhabitants of the former German Democratic Republic. During their visit, visitors are immersed in the daily life of the former inhabitants of the Republic through the examination of everyday objects hidden in the closets and drawers of a typical apartment. 


The Holocaust Memorial 


Those who are fascinated by Nazi history will want to visit this historic site built by the Germans thirty years ago to commemorate the six million Jews killed during the Holocaust, the attempted genocide of Jews under the reign of Hitler. 


Inside the site, 2,711 concrete blocks were erected to create a feeling of “malaise and confusion” and to recall the terror that reigned at the time of the Third Reich. 


On the site, you can visit the exhibition, “Place of Information,” which presents the highlights of Hitler's reign, as well as the events leading to the extermination of the Jews. Because of its dark nature, exposure is not recommended for children under 14 years. 


Hackesche Höfe 


If you are travelling to Berlin, be sure not to overlook the courtyards of the Hackesche Höfe, abounding in art galleries, cinemas, restaurants, boutiques, trendy cafes, and bars to have a good time. 


This is the ideal place to stroll along typical German streets, stopping for coffee or a snack at one of the outdoor terraces surrounded by unusual architectural styles, and to learn more about the Berlin of times gone by. The monuments that form the courtyards have been classified as historic buildings since 1977. 


Checkpoint Charlie 


Another attractions not to miss during your trip to Berlin is “Checkpoint Charlie,” a historic place that served as a bridge between the two Germanies after World War II. 


Beyond that, it's yours to discover during your trip to Berlin!

Search a destination
 

Berlin

Voyagez à Berlin

Voyage Berlin

 

La ville de Berlin fait sans contredit partie des plus belles régions à explorer en Allemagne. Ainsi, si vous prévoyez un voyage à Berlin, vous serez certain d’en avoir pour votre argent. Voici quelques-uns des plus beaux attraits de la ville et des idées d’activités à pratiquer pour faire de votre périple à Berlin une expérience mémorable.

 

Berlin, la capitale

 

Capitale culturelle d’Europe, la capitale de l’Allemagne foisonne de lieux historiques et de bâtiments patrimoniaux qui valent le coup. C’est le cas du fameux mur de Berlin, plus important vestige des divisions idéologiques qui opposaient les habitants de l’Allemagne de l’Est et ceux de l’Allemagne de l’Ouest au sortir de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Tout au long du mur, on retrouve des centaines de peintures et de graffitis muraux témoignant des hostilités du passé entre les communistes et les capitalistes au lendemain de la chute du règne nazi de Hitler.

 

Le musée DDR

 

On retrouve à Berlin une multitude de musées – on en compte 55 au total. L’un des plus achalandés est le musée DDR, qui présente des objets ayant appartenu à des habitants de l’ancienne République démocratique allemande (RDA). Au cours de leur visite, les touristes sont plongés dans le quotidien des anciens habitants de la république par l’entremise de la découverte d’objets d’usage quotidien cachés dans les armoires et les tiroirs d’un appartement.

 

Le Memorial de l’Holocauste

 

Ceux qui sont fascinés par l’histoire nazi se réjouiront de la visite de ce site historique aménagé par les Allemands il y a une trentaine d’années pour commémorer les quelque six millions de Juifs qui ont été tués lors du Shoah, soit le génocide des Juifs sous le règne d’Hitler.

 

À l’intérieur du site, 2711 stèles en béton ont été érigées afin de créer une sensation de «malaise et de confusion» et pour rappeler la terreur qui régnait au moment du Troisième Reich.

 

Sur place, on peut notamment assister à l’exposition «Centre d’information du Memorial aux Juifs assassinés d’Europe», au cours de laquelle on présente les moments forts du règne d’Hitler, de même que les évènements ayant conduit à l’extermination des Juifs. À cause de son caractère sombre, l’exposition n’est pas recommandée aux enfants de moins de 14 ans.

 

Hackesche Höfe

 

Si vous êtes de passage à Berlin, ne manquez pas non plus de vous rendre dans les cours fermées des Hackesche Höfe, où foisonnent les galeries d’art, les cinémas, les restaurants, les boutiques, les cafés et les bars branchés pour faire la fête.

 

C’est l’endroit idéal pour déambuler dans des rues typiquement allemandes, pour s’arrêter prendre un café ou manger un morceau sur l’une des terrasses extérieures entourées d’un cadre architectural insolite et pour en apprendre plus sur le «Berlin d’autrefois». Les monuments qui forment les cours sont classés bâtiments historiques depuis 1977.

 

Le Checkpoint Charlie

 

Parmi les autres attractions à ne pas manquer lors de votre voyage à Berlin, nous vous suggérons le «Checkpoint Charlie», lieu historique qui servait de pont entre les deux Allemagne au lendemain de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

 

Pour le reste, à vous de le découvrir lors de votre voyage à Berlin!

 

Photos de Berlin

 

Video Berlin

 

Carte de Berlin