Travel to Panama

Known principally for its canal that connects the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans, Panama is a country in Central America. It neighbours Costa Rica and Colombia, of which it was a constituent part in the period when the Republic of Gran Colombia existed. Panama marks the transition between Central America and South America.


During your trip to Panama, visiting the famous canal is a must. It was conceived as far back as the early 16th century. The idea was to divert shipping routes so that it would no longer be necessary to travel by the dangerous Cape Horn to get to the American Pacific coast from the Atlantic. The Panama Canal was planned later in 1880, under the leadership of French engineer, Ferdinand de Lesseps. It opened in 1914 after the completion of the construction of a network of 77 kilometres of canals.


Panama has many tourist attractions, beginning with the capital, Panama City, and its old town. The architectural heritage from the Spanish colonial period is a marvel to see. The fortifications on the Caribbean coast of San Lorenzo and Portobelo are very much worth the detour.


However, staying in a Panama City hotel is an unforgettable experience. The constantly busy city draws its uniqueness from its cosmopolitan flavour. The bars and restaurants offer opportunities to mix with local people as they go about their daily lives. Take the opportunity to sample the local produce by asking advice from your hosts! Friendliness and hospitality are not just words in Panama. Take a stroll down Casco Viejo Avenue with its trendy shops and treat yourself to a shopping adventure. Do not forget to experience the wonderful ambience of the capital's Metropolitan Park.


Another highlight: nature. Environmental richness and biodiversity are everywhere apparent. Botany and ornithology enthusiasts can develop their skills and knowledge since both the flora and fauna are so rich. The network of hiking trails is another attraction for the more resilient and athletic. The seas invite you to go swimming, from the beaches of the Caribbean to the Pacific waters. Scuba diving will allow you to explore amazing coral reefs while surfing lovers will be in their element in Panama.


Tourism has grown strongly in recent years thanks to the variety of activities available. Hotels have followed suit by providing the comforts and conveniences that foreign tourists expect. Book a Panama resort now through the Lonely Planet Panama.


Enjoy discovering remarkable sites like the island of Taboga with its bright flowers and pelicans. Visit the small town of Boquete, nestled in the heart of a steep valley, the starting point for hiking and horseback riding. Stop at least one day to visit San Blas, an archipelago of no less than 378 islands. This province led by the Kuna Indians is remarkable for its coconut trade and boating. Achutupu, Coco Blanco, and Kagantupu are three of its better-known islands.

Search a destination
 

Panama

Célèbre en grande partie pour son canal reliant l’océan Atlantique à l’océan Pacifique, le Panama est un pays d’Amérique centrale. Ses voisins limitrophes sont le Costa Rica et la Colombie dont il faisait partie intégrante durant la période où la Grande Colombie existait. Le Panama fait en quelque sorte la liaison entre l’Amérique centrale et l’Amérique du sud.
 
Durant votre voyage au panama, la visite du fameux canal est incontournable. Son concept est ancien puisqu’il remonte au début du 16è siècle. L’idée est de détourner les routes maritimes du passage du dangereux Cap Horn pour gagner un temps considérable afin d’atteindre la côte pacifique américaine. Le canal de Panama est réalisé plus tard en 1880, sous la férule du français Ferdinand de Lesseps. Il ouvre en 1914 après l’achèvement de la construction d’un réseau de 77 kilomètres de canaux.
 
La Panama possède de nombreux atouts touristiques à commencer par Panama-city, la capitale et sa vieille ville. Le patrimoine architectural issu des restes coloniaux espagnols sont une merveille à observer. Les fortifications du littoral caribéen de San Lorenzo et Portobelo valent évidemment le détour.  
 
Toutefois, en réservant un hôtel panama city, c’est le dépaysement garanti. La ville constamment animée puise son originalité dans sa vertu cosmopolite. Les bars et les restaurants sont des opportunités de côtoyer la population locale dans son quotidien. Profitez-en pour déguster les produits du terroir en demandant conseils à vos hôtes ! La convivialité et l’accueil ne sont pas de vains mots au Panama. Descendez l’avenue Casco Viejo avec ses magasins branchés et laissez-vous entrainer par une sortie shopping. N’oubliez pas non plus de vous rendre dans le parc métropolitain de la capitale pour vous plonger dans un cadre étonnant.
 
Autre atout : la nature. La richesse environnementale et la biodiversité sont omniprésentes. Les amateurs de botanique et d’ornithologie pourront développer leurs aptitudes et leurs connaissances tant les curiosités de la faune et de la flore locales sont importantes. Le réseau de chemins de randonnées est une autre attractivité pour les plus endurants et les plus sportifs. La mer est une invitation à la baignade, des plages des Caraïbes aux eaux du Pacifique. La plongée sous-marine vous fait découvrir les récifs de coraux incroyables tandis que pour les amateurs au panama de surf, les spots sauront vous séduire.
 
L’activité touristique s’est fortement développée ces dernières années grâce à cette diversité d’activités accessibles. Les établissements hôteliers ont suivi le mouvement en s’équipant du confort et des commodités nécessaires aux touristes étrangers. Réservez dès à présent en resort Panama dans le Lonely Planet Panama.
 
Découvrez avec délectation des sites remarquables comme l’île de Taboga avec ses fleurs éclatantes et ses pélicans. Rendez-vous aussi dans la petite ville de Boquete, nichée au cœur d’une vallée escarpée, point de départ de randonnées pédestres et équestres. Arrêtez-vous une journée au moins pour visiter l’archipel de San Blas qui réunit pas moins de 378 îles. Cette province dirigée par des Indiens Kuna est remarquable avec son commerce de noix de coco et son nautisme. Achutupu, Coco Blanco et Kagantupu sont les plus renommées. 
 
 
 
 

Photos du Panama

 

Vidéo du Panama

 

Carte du Panama