Travel to Santo Domingo

Capital of the Dominican Republic, Santo Domingo is the perfect place to discover the country while enjoying the many charms of the nearby resorts. 


Indeed, nestled in the southeast of the country, near Boca Chica and La Romana, Santo Domingo is full of cultural and historical treasures and typically Dominican places that will certainly please you … especially if you like to think outside the box. 


Calle Las Damas 


Walking through the cobbled and bustling streets of the bustling city, including the famous Calle Las Damas, the first paved road in North America, you will find a multitude of colonial buildings, Dominicans playing dominoes at any time of the day, and small restaurants selling typical Dominican food, including Bandera, the national dish consisting of white rice, beef stew, and kidney beans. 


A Few Musts 


Among the must-see destinations during a trip to Santo Domingo are the home of Christopher Columbus and the Santa Maria la Menor, the first cathedral of the New World. 


The Plaza de Espana, a public square full of terraces and cafes where different shows keep the atmosphere lively, is another attraction not to be missed if you are planning a visit to the oldest city in the New World. 


Some Beaches to See 


South of the city, the urban beach Guibia will surely delight you with its hotels, restaurants, shops, and outdoor fitness facilities. 


Otherwise, you can carry on for 31 kilometers and go to the beach in Boca Chica, a small fishing village renowned for its authenticity and the beauty of its clear warm waters. It is the perfect place to get a feel for the culture of the country, since the beach is frequented by locals. More tranquil, the beaches of Julian Dolio and Guayacanes, located a few kilometres east of Boca Chica, are also worth exploring.

Search a destination
 

Santo Domingo

Voyage Santo Domingo

 

Capitale de la République dominicaine, Santo Domingo est l’endroit par excellence pour découvrir le pays tout en profitant des multiples charmes des stations balnéaires situées à proximité de la ville.

 

En effet, nichée au sud-est du pays, près de Boca Chica et de La Romana, Santo Domingo regorge de trésors culturels et historiques et d’endroits typiquement dominicains qui vous plairont assurément si vous aimez sortir des sentiers battus.

 

La calle Las Damas

 

En se promenant dans les rues pavées et animées de la ville, notamment sur la fameuse calle Las Damas, première rue pavée d’Amérique du Nord, vous y découvrirez une multitude d’édifices coloniaux, des Dominicains qui jouent aux dominos à toute heure du jour et des petits restaurants vendant des mets typiquement dominicains, dont le Bandera, plat national composé de riz blanc, de ragoût de bœuf et de haricots rouges.

 

Quelques incontournables

 

Figurent au nombre des incontournables à voir lors d’un voyage à Santo Domingo la maison de Christophe Colomb, de même que la première cathédrale du Nouveau Monde, soit la Santa Maria la Menor.

 

La Plaza de Espana, place publique regorgeant de terrasses et de cafés animée par divers spectacles, figure également au nombre des attraits à ne pas manquer si vous prévoyez une visite dans la plus vieille ville du Nouveau Monde.

 

Quelques plages à voir

 

Au sud de la ville, la plage urbaine de Guibia vous ravira assurément avec ses hôtels, ses restaurants, ses boutiques et ses installations de gym en plein air.

 

Sinon, il faut parcourir 31 kilomètres et aller à la plage de Boca Chica, petit village de pêcheurs réputé pour son authenticité et la beauté de ses eaux chaudes et limpides. C’est l’endroit par excellence pour découvrir la culture du pays, puisque la plage est très fréquentée par les locaux. Plus tranquilles, les plages de Julian Dolio Beach et de Guayacanes, situées à quelques kilomètres à l’est de Boca Chica, sont à voir également.

 

Photos de Santo Domingo

 

Vidéo de Santo Domingo

 

Carte de Santo Domingo